Laboratory for Electron Microscopy

Electron microscopic examinations in the service area

As the central facility of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, the LEM performs electron microscopy service investigations.
The Laboratory for Electron Microscopy performs electron microscopy service investigations for the institutes of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology(KIT) and external clients. The fees depend on the client (see fees below) and the extent of the work. Please contact us best by phone to clarify the time required for the work.

Electron microscopy is preferably used for structural investigations when the resolving power of light microscopy is no longer sufficient, i.e. when specimens with structural details on the order of less than one micrometer are to be examined. However, electron microscopic studies may also be of interest on larger objects, such as those whose imaging requires a high depth of field. Analytical techniques (energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDXS) and electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS)) allow the chemical composition of the sample to be analyzed. Chemical analyses can be performed with exceptionally high spatial resolution at the nanometer scale, allowing samples that are chemically inhomogeneous at the nanometer scale to be characterized. In principle, material science and biological specimens can be analyzed in the broadest sense. A wide range of preparation methods is available for sample preparation.

Two types of electron microscopy are used in the LEM: scanning electron microscopy (SEM) to study surfaces and transmission electron microscopy (TEM) to study structures inside samples. Examples can be found under the keywords transmission or scanning electron microscopy. Nanostructuring can be performed with a combined focused ion beam (FIB)/REM system, which is also used for target preparation of TEM samples.

 

Fees

Legal regulations stipulate that contract research has no longer been exempt from VAT since January 1, 2004. The prices stated below do not include sales tax.

 

Request for the use of services & Terms of use

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Gerthsen, Tel. +49 721 608 - 4 3200

apl. Prof. Dr. habil. Reinhard Schneider (Transmission electron microscopy), Tel. +49 721 608 - 4 3719 

Dr. Erich Müller (Scanning electron microscopy und FIB), Tel. +49 721 608 - 4 8734 oder - 4 2957

 

Instructions for accessing the LEM sFTP server

The images and results of the service examinations performed by the Electron Microscopy Laboratory are available to customers via an sFTP server. Instructions for accessing this server can be found at the following link.

To access the server, an account with a personal password is required. If this is not available, our service staff will help you to set it up.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchungen im Servicebereich

Das LEM führt als Zentraleinrichtung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie elektronenmikroskopische Serviceuntersuchungen durch.
Das Laboratorium für Elektronenmikroskopie führt elektronenmikroskopische Serviceuntersuchungen für die Institute des Karlsruhe Instituts für Technologie(KIT) und externe Auftraggeber durch. Die Gebühren hängen vom Auftraggeber (siehe Gebühren unten) und vom Umfang der Arbeiten ab. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns am besten telefonisch, um den zeitlichen Aufwand der Arbeiten abzuklären.
 
Die Elektronenmikroskopie wird vorzugsweise dann für Strukturuntersuchungen eingesetzt, wenn das Auflösungsvermögen der Lichtmikroskopie nicht mehr ausreicht, d.h. wenn Präparate mit strukturellen Details in der Größenordnung von weniger als einem Mikrometer untersucht werden sollen. Jedoch können elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchungen auch an größeren Objekten von Interesse sein, wie deren Abbildung einen hohen Tiefenschärfebereich erfordert. Analytische Techniken (energiedispersive Röntgenspektroskopie (EDXS) und Elektronenenergieverlustspektroskopie (EELS)) ermöglichen es, die chemische Zusammensetzung der Probe zu analysieren. Chemische Analysen können mit einer außerordentlich hohen räumlichen Auflösung im Nanometerbereich durchgeführt werden, so dass chemisch auf Nanometerskala inhomogene Proben charakterisiert werden können. Grundsätzlich können im weitesten Sinn materialwissenschaftliche und biologische Präparate untersucht werden. Zur Probenpräparation steht ein breites Spektrum von Präparationsverfahren zur Verfügung.
 
Im LEM werden zwei Arten der Elektronenmikroskopie eingesetzt: die Rasterelektronenmikroskopie (REM) zur Untersuchung von Oberflächen und die Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie (TEM) zur Untersuchung von Strukturen im Probeninneren. Beispiele finden Sie unter den Stichworten Transmissions- bzw. Rasterelektronenmikroskopie. Nanostrukturierungen können mit einem kombinierten fokussierten-Ionenstrahl(FIB)/REM-System durchgeführt werden, das auch für die Zielpräparation von TEM Proben eingesetzt wird. 

 


Gebühren

Gesetzliche Regelungen sehen vor, dass Auftragsforschung seit dem 1.1.2004 nicht mehr von der Umsatzsteuer befreit ist. Die im folgenden genannten Preise verstehen sich ohne Umsatzsteuer.

  

 

Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Gerthsen, Tel. +49 721 608 - 4 3200

Dr. habil. Reinhard Schneider (Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie), Tel. +49 721 608 - 4 3719 

Dr. Erich Müller (Rasterelektronenmikroskopie und FIB), Tel. +49 721 608 - 4 8734 oder - 4 2957



Anleitung für Zugang zum LEM-sFTP-Server

Die Aufnahmen und Ergebnisse der vom Laboratorium für Elektronenmikroskopie durchgeführten Serviceuntersuchungen stehen Kunden über einen sFTP-Server zur Verfügung. Eine Anleitung für den Zugang zu diesem Server ist unter folgendem Link zu finden.

 

 

 

Um auf den Server zugreifen zu können, wird ein Account mit persönlichem Passwort benötigt. Sollte dieser nicht vorhanden sein, sind unsere Servicemitarbeiter bei der Einrichtung behilflich.